


Be Careful With Fire 
 
North Carolina’s Forest Fire Laws were enacted in order to 
protect one of our most important resources - the forest. 
There is approximately 18.7 million acres of woodland in 
North Carolina.  Fire is the greatest enemy to those forests. 
 
Before you do any burning: 
1. Check the Law.  At  times  any  burning  is unlawful. 
2. Do not burn on dry, hot days. 
3. Be sure winds are down. 
4. Plan burning for late afternoon. 
5. Clear the area around where the fire is to be.   
6. Have necessary fire tools available. 
7. Do not leave fire until the last ember is out. 
8. Always thoroughly wet stove ashes before dumping 

outdoors. 
9. Air Quality Rules do not allow some types of burning.  
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SELECTED FOREST PROTECTION LAWS 
OF NORTH CAROLINA 

                          

§14-136. Intentionally setting fire to grass and brushlands 
and woodlands.  
If any person shall intentionally set fire to any grassland, 
brushland or woodland, except it be his own property, or in 
that case without first giving notice to all persons owning or in 
charge of lands adjoining the land intended to be fired, and 
without also taking care to watch such fire while burning and 
to extinguish it before it shall reach any lands near to or 
adjoining the lands so fired, he shall for every such offense be 
guilty of a Class 2  misdemeanor for the first offense, and for 
a second or any subsequent similar offense shall be guilty of a 
Class 1 misdemeanor.   If intent to damage the property of 
another shall be shown, said person shall be punished as a 
Class I felon.  This section shall not prevent an action for the 
damages sustained by the owner of any property from such 
fires.  For the purposes of this section, the term "woodlands" 
is to be taken to include all forest areas, both timber and 
cutover land, and all second-growth stands on areas that have 
at one time been cultivated.  Any person who shall furnish to 
the State, evidence sufficient for the conviction of a violation 
of this section shall receive the sum of five hundred dollars 
($500.00) to be paid from the State Fire Suppression Fund.  
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What It Means 
1. It is unlawful for any person to set fire to any grassland, 

brushland, or woodland belonging to another. 
 
2. Any person  setting fire  to his  own land must first give notice 

to adjoining landowners, keep watch over fire, and extinguish 
the fire before it reaches the lands of another. 

 
3. It is a felony for anyone to set a fire on lands of another with 

intent to do damage. 
 
4. Any person furnishing sufficient evidence which results in a 

conviction under this law shall receive five hundred dollars 
($500.00) from the State Fire Suppression Fund. 

 
 
§14-137. Willfully or negligently setting fire to woods and 
fields.  
If any person, firm or corporation shall willfully or negligently 
set on fire, or cause to be set on fire, any woods, lands or fields, 
whatsoever, every such offender shall be guilty of a Class 2 
misdemeanor.  This section shall apply only in those counties 
under the protection of the Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services in its work of forest fire control.  It shall 
not apply in the case of a landowner firing, or causing to be 
fired, his own open, non-wooded lands, or fields in connection 
with farming or building operations at the time and in the 
manner now  
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provided by law:  Provided, he shall have confined the fire at 
his own expense to said open lands or fields. 
 
What It Means 
1. Makes it unlawful for anyone to willfully or negligently set fire 

or cause to be set on fire any woods, lands, or fields he does not 
own. 

 
2. A landowner may fire or cause to be fired, his own open 

non-wooded land and fields in connection with farming or 
building operations, but he must comply with all other burning 
regulations and must confine the burning to his own lands and 
fields at his expense. 

 
3. Applies only in the counties under the protection of the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.    
 
 
§14-138.1. Setting fire to grassland, brushland, or  
woodland.   
Any person, firm, corporation, or other legal entity who shall 
in any manner whatsoever start any fire upon any grassland, 
brushland, or woodland without fully extinguishing the same, 
shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor which may include a 
fine of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) or more than fifty 
dollars ($50.00).  For the purpose of this section, the term 
“woodland” includes timber and cutover land and all second 
growth stands on areas that were once cultivated. 
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What It Means 
1. Makes it unlawful to start a fire in any manner without fully 

extinguishing it on any grassland, brushland or woodland. 
 
 
§14-140.1 Certain fire to be guarded by watchman.   
Any person, firm, corporation, or other legal entity who shall 
burn any brush, grass, or other material whereby any property 
may be endangered or destroyed, without keeping and 
maintaining a careful watchman in charge of the burning, shall 
be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor which may include a fine 
of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) or more than fifty dollars 
($50.00).  Fire escaping from the brush, grass, or other 
material while burning shall be prima facie evidence of 
violation of this provision.  
 
What It Means 
1. A person burning any material that endangers the property of 

others must keep a careful watchman in charge of the fire until it 
is extinguished. 

 
 
§77-13. Obstructing streams a misdemeanor.  
If any person, firm, or corporation shall fell any tree, or  put 
any obstruction, except for the purposes of utilizing water as a 
motive power, in any branch, creek, stream, or other natural 
passage for water, whereby the natural flow of water through 
such passage is lessened or retarded, or whereby the 
navigation of such stream may be impeded, delayed, or 
prevented, the person, firm, or corporation so offending shall 
be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.  In  
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addition to any fine or imprisonment imposed, the court may, 
in its discretion, order the person, firm, or corporation so 
offending to remove the obstruction and restore the affected 
waterway to an undisturbed condition, or allow authorized 
employees of the enforcing agency to enter upon the property 
and accomplish the removal of the obstruction and the 
restoration of the waterway to an undisturbed condition, in 
which case the costs of the removal and restoration shall be 
paid to the enforcing agency by the offending party.  Nothing 
in this section shall prevent the erection of fish dams or hedges 
across any stream  which do not extend across more than two 
thirds of its width at the point of obstruction.  If the fish dams 
or hedges extend more than two thirds of the width of any 
stream, the said penalties shall attach.  This section may be 
enforced by marine fisheries inspectors and wildlife 
protectors. Within the bounds of any county or municipality 
this section may also be enforced by any law enforcement 
officer having territorial jurisdiction or by the county engineer.  
This section may also be enforced by specially commissioned 
forest law-enforcement officers of the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services for offenses occurring in 
woodlands. For purposes of this section, the term “woodlands” 
means all forested areas, including swamp and timberlands, 
cutover lands, and second-growth stands in previously 
cultivated sites.  
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What It Means 
1. It is unlawful to fell any tree or put any  obstruction in any 

branch, creek, stream or other  natural passage  for water 
causing the natural flow of water to be reduced or stopped, or 
navigation of the stream is impeded, delayed or prevented. 

 
2. Fish dams or hedges may be built if they do not extend over two 

thirds the width of the stream. 
 
 
§77-14. Obstructions in streams and drainage ditches.  If 
any person, firm, or corporation shall fell any tree or put any 
slabs, stumpage, sawdust, shavings, lime, refuse or any other 
substances in any creek, stream, river or natural or artificial 
drainage ravine or ditch, or in any other outlet which serves to 
remove water from any land whatsoever whereby the drainage 
of said land is impeded, delayed or prevented, the person, firm 
or corporation so offending shall be guilty of a Class 2 
misdemeanor: Provided, however, nothing herein shall 
prevent the construction of any dam or weir not otherwise 
prohibited by any valid local or State statute or regulation.  In 
addition to any fine or imprisonment imposed, the court may, 
in its discretion, order the person, firm, or corporation so 
offending to remove the obstruction and restore the affected 
waterway to an undisturbed condition, or allow authorized 
employees of the enforcing agency to enter upon the property 
and accomplish the removal of the obstruction and the 
restoration of the waterway to an undisturbed condition, in 
which case the costs of the removal and  
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restoration shall be paid to the enforcing agency by the 
offending party. This section may be enforced by marine 
fisheries inspectors and wildlife protectors.  Within the 
boundaries of any county or municipality this section may be 
enforced by any law enforcement officer having territorial 
jurisdiction, or by the county engineer.  This section may also 
be enforced by specially commissioned forest 
law-enforcement officers of the Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services for offenses occurring in woodlands.  
For purposes of this section, the term "woodlands" means all 
forest areas, including swamp and timber lands, cutover lands 
and second-growth stands on previously cultivated sites.   
 
What It Means 
1. It is unlawful to fell any tree, or put any substance in any creek, 

stream, river, or natural or artificial drainage ravine or ditch or 
other outlet whereby the natural and normal drainage of land is 
impeded, stopped or delayed. 

         
 
§106-863. Duties of forest ranger; payment of expenses by 
State and Counties.  
Forest rangers shall have charge of measures for controlling 
forest fires, protection of forest from pests and diseases, and 
the development and improvement of the forest for maximum 
production of forest products; shall post along highways and 
in other conspicuous places copies of the forest fire laws and 
warnings against fires, which shall be supplied by the 
Commissioner; shall patrol and  
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man lookout towers and other points during dry and dangerous 
seasons under the direction of the Commissioner; and shall 
perform such other acts and  duties as shall be considered 
necessary by the Commissioner in the protection, 
development and improvement of the forested area of each of 
the counties within the State.  No county may be held liable 
for any part of the expenses thus incurred unless specifically 
authorized by the board of county commissioners under prior 
written agreement with the Commissioner; appropriations for 
meeting the county’s share of such expenses so authorized by 
the board of county commissioners shall be provided annually 
in the county budget.  For each county in which financial 
participation by the county is authorized, the Commissioner 
shall keep or cause to be kept an itemized account of all 
expenses thus incurred and shall send such accounts 
periodically to the board of county commissioners of said 
county; upon approval by the board of the correctness of such 
accounts, the county commissioners shall issue or cause to be 
issued a warrant on the county treasure for the payment of the 
county’s share of such expenditures, said payment to be made 
within one month after receipt of such statement from the 
Commissioner.  Appropriations made by a county for the 
purposes set out in Articles 72, 73, 75 and 79 of the Chapter in 
the cooperative forest protection, development and 
improvement work are not to replace State and federal funds 
which may be available to the Commissioner for the work in 
said county, but are to serve as a supplement thereto.  Funds 
appropriated to the Department for a fiscal year for the 
purposes set out in Articles 72, 73, 75 and 79 
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of this Chapter shall not be expended in a county unless that 
county shall contribute at least twenty-five percent (25%) of 
the total cost of the forestry program. 
 
What It Means 
Spells out the responsibilities of Forest Rangers; 

1. to control forest fires, 
2. to protect forest from insects and disease, and 
3. to perform any other duties considered necessary by the 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 
 

This statute also sets standards for payment of expenses by the county 
and the State for protection, development and improvement of forested 
areas. 
 
 

§106-864. Powers of forest rangers to prevent and 
extinguish fires; authority to issue citations and warning 
tickets. 
(a)   Forest rangers shall prevent and extinguish forest fires 
and shall have control and direction of all persons and 
equipment while engaged in the extinguishing of forest fires.  
During a season of drought, the Commissioner or his designate 
may establish a fire patrol in any district, and in case of fire in 
or threatening any forest or woodland, the forest ranger shall 
attend forthwith and use all necessary means to confine and 
extinguish such fire.  The forest ranger or deputy forest 
ranger may summon any resident between the ages of 18 and 
45 years, inclusive, to assist in extinguishing fires and may 
require the use of crawler tractors and other property needed 
for such purposes; any  
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person so summoned and who is physically able who refuses 
or neglects to assist or to allow the use of equipment and such 
other property required shall be guilty of a Class 3  
misdemeanor and upon conviction shall only be subject to a 
fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than one 
hundred dollars ($100.00).  No action for trespass shall lie 
against any forest ranger, deputy forest ranger, or person 
summoned by him for crossing lands, backfiring, burning out 
or performing his duties as a forest ranger or deputy forest 
ranger. 
 
(b)  Forest rangers are authorized to issue and serve citations 
under the terms of G.S. 15A-302 and warning tickets under the 
terms of G.S. 106-866 for offenses under the forest laws.  
This subsection may not be interpreted to confer the power of 
arrest on forest rangers, and does not make them criminal 
justice officers within the meaning of G.S. 17C-2. 
 
What It Means 
This statute gives Forest Rangers the authority to: 
1. Prevent and extinguish forest fires; 
 
2. Take control of all persons and equipment while engaged in 

extinguishing fires; 
3. Man fire patrols, cross lands, backfire, burn out or perform his 

duties as a Forest Ranger without liability for trespass action; 
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4. Summon any physically able North Carolina resident between 
the ages of 18 and 45, inclusive, to assist in extinguishing fires; 

 
5. Require the use of crawler tractors and other property for the 

purpose of extinguishing fires; and 
 
6. Authorizes the Forest Ranger to issue citations and write 

warning tickets. 
 
 
§106-865.Powers of forest law-enforcement officers.  The 
Commissioner is authorized to appoint as many forest law 
enforcement officers as he deems necessary to carry out the 
forest law-enforcement responsibilities of the Department.  
Forest law enforcement officers shall have all the powers and 
duties of a forest ranger enumerated in G.S. 106-863 and 
106-864.  Forest law enforcement officers shall, in addition to 
their other duties, have the powers of peace officers to enforce 
the forest laws. Any forest law enforcement officer may arrest, 
without warrant, any person or persons committing any crime 
in his presence or whom such officer has probable cause for 
believing has committed a crime in his presence and bring 
such person or persons forthwith before a district court or 
other officer having jurisdiction. Forest law-enforcement 
officers shall also have authority to obtain and serve warrants 
including warrants for violation of any duly promulgated rule 
of the Department.  
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What It Means 
1. Authorizes Forest Law Enforcement Officers to enforce all 

statutes of this State enacted for the protection of forests and 
woodlands from fire, insects or disease and for obstruction of 
streams and drainage ditches in  forests and woodlands. 

 
2. Authorizes the Forest Law Enforcement Officer to arrest without 

warrant any person committing any crime in his presence. 
 
3. Forest Law Enforcement Officers may obtain and serve 

warrants for violations of regulations of the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

 
 
§106-866.Warning tickets for violations of the forest laws.  
(a) To encourage the cooperation of the public in achieving the 
objectives of the forest laws, the Commissioner may provide 
for the issuance of warning tickets instead of the initiation of 
criminal prosecution by forest rangers and forest 
law-enforcement officers. Issuance of the warning tickets shall 
be in accordance with criteria administratively promulgated by 
the Commissioner within the requirements of this section. 
These criteria are exempt from Articles 2 of Chapter 150B of 
the General Statutes but shall be filed in accordance with 
Article 5 of that Chapter. 
 
(b)  No  warning  ticket  may be  issued  unless all  of 
the  following conditions are met: 
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(1)  The forest  ranger or  the forest law-enforcement 
officer must be convinced that the offense was not 
committed intentionally. 
(2)  The offense is  not one, or  a type of  offense, for 
which the Commissioner has prohibited the issuance of 
warning tickets. 
(3)  At the time of the violation it was not reasonably 
foreseeable that the conduct of the offender could result 
in any significant destruction of  forests or woodlands or 
constitute a hazard to the public. 

 
(c)   A warning ticket may not be  issued if the offender has 
previously been charged with, or issued a warning ticket for, 
the same or a similar  offense within  the  preceding  three 
years.  A list  of persons who have  been issued  warning 
tickets under this section within the preceding three years shall 
be maintained  and periodically updated by the 
Commissioner. 
 
(d)  This section does not entitle any  person who  has 
committed  an offense  to  the right  to be  issued  a  
warning ticket,  and the issuance  of  a  warning   ticket 
does not prohibit the later initiation of criminal prosecution for 
the same offense for which the warning ticket was issued. 
 
What It Means 
1. Forest Rangers and Forest Law Enforcement Officers have 

statutory authority to write warning tickets for certain violations 
of forest fire laws. 
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§106-870. Misdemeanor to destroy posted forestry notice.  
Any person who shall maliciously or willfully destroy, deface, 
remove, or disfigure any sign, poster, or warning notice, 
posted by order of the Commissioner, under the provisions of 
this Article, or any other act which may be passed for the 
purpose of protecting and developing the forests in this State, 
shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

 
What It Means 
1. Makes it unlawful to willfully or maliciously destroy, deface, 

remove or disfigure any sign, poster or warning notice posted by 
order of the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, for the purpose of protecting or developing the forests 
of this State. 

 
 
§106-872. Instructions on forest preservation and 
development.  
(a) It shall be the duty of all district, county, township 
rangers, and all deputy rangers provided for in this Chapter to 
distribute in all the public schools and high schools of the 
county in which they are serving as such fire rangers all such 
tracts, books, periodicals and other literature that may, from 
time to time be sent out to such rangers by the State and federal 
forestry agencies touching or dealing with forest preservation, 
development and forest management.   



 
 

18 

(b) It shall be the duty of the various rangers herein 
mentioned under the direction of the Commissioner, and the 
duty of the teachers of the various schools, both public and 
high schools, to keep posted at some conspicuous place in the 
various classrooms of the school buildings such appropriate 
bulletins and posters as may be sent out from the forestry 
agencies herein named for that purpose and keep the same 
constantly before their pupils; and said teachers and rangers 
shall prepare lectures or talks to be made to the pupils of the 
various schools on the subject of forest fires, their origin and 
their destructive effect on the plant life and tree life of the 
forests of the State, the development and scientific 
management  of the forests of the State, and shall be prepared 
to give practical instruction to their pupils from time to time 
and as often as they shall find it possible so to do. 
 
What It Means 
1. Requires all Forest Rangers to distribute forestry materials and 

literature in the schools of the county in which they work. 
 
2. Spells out the duties of rangers and teachers to post such 

appropriate bulletins and posters furnished by forestry agencies 
and keep them constantly before their pupils. 

 
3. Requires teachers and rangers to prepare and present lectures 

or talks to pupils on the subject of forestry. 
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§106-873. Authority of Governor to close forests and 
woodlands to hunting and trapping.  
During periods of protracted drought or when other hazardous 
fire conditions threaten forest and water resources and appear 
to require extraordinary precautions, the Governor of the 
State, upon the joint recommendation of the Commissioner 
and the Executive Director of the North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission, may by official proclamation: 

(1) Close any  or all  of the woodlands and inland 
waters of the State to hunting, fishing and trapping 
for the period of the emergency. 

(2) Forbid for the period of the emergency the building  
of campfires and the burning of brush, grass or other 
debris within 500 feet of any woodland in any 
county, counties, or parts thereof. 

(3) Close for the period of  the emergency any or all of 
the woodlands of the State to  such  other persons  
and activities  as he  deems proper under the 
circumstances, except to the owners or tenants of 
such property and their agents and employees, or 
persons holding written permission from any owner 
or his recognized agent to enter thereon  for any  
lawful purpose other than  hunting, fishing  or 
trapping.  
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§106-874. Publication of proclamation; annulment 
thereof.  
Such proclamation shall become effective 24 hours after 
certified time of issue, and shall be published in such 
newspapers and posted in such places and in such manner as 
the Governor may direct.  It shall be annulled in the same 
manner by another proclamation by the Governor when he is 
satisfied, upon joint recommendation of the Commissioner 
and the Executive Director of the North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission, that the period of the emergency has 
passed.  
 
What It Means 
1. Gives the Governor the authority to close any or all woodlands 

during the hazardous forest fire conditions.  Closure of 
woodlands becomes effective 24 hours after the certified time of 
issue of such a proclamation. 

 
2. The proclamation will be annulled when the Governor, upon the 

joint recommendation of the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services and the Executive Director of the North 
Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, is satisfied that the 
emergency has passed. 

 
 
§106-875. Violation of proclamation a misdemeanor. 
Any person, firm or corporation, who enters upon any 
woodlands or inland waters of the State for the purpose of 
hunting, fishing or trapping, or who builds a campfire or burns 
brush, grass or other debris within 500 feet of any  
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woodland, after a proclamation has been issued by the 
Governor forbidding such activities, or who violates any other 
provisions of the Governor’s proclamation with regard to 
permissible activities in closed woodlands shall be guilty of a 
Class 1 misdemeanor. 
 
What It Means 
1. Makes it a misdemeanor punishable by fine or imprisonment in 

the discretion of the court to violate any of the provisions of the 
Governor’s proclamation concerning emergency drought or fire 
conditions. 

 
 
§106-880. Purpose and intent.  
(a)  The purpose of this Article is to place within the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the 
authority and responsibility for investigating insect 
infestations and disease infections which effect stands of 
forest trees, the devising of control measures for interested 
landowners and others, and taking measures to control, 
suppress, or eradicated outbreaks of forest insect pests and tree 
diseases. 
 
What It Means 
1. Places the responsibility and authority within the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services for investigating insect and 
disease infestations which affect forest trees, and to take 
measures to control, suppress, or eradicate outbreaks of forest 
insects and tree diseases. 
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§106-881. Authority of the Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services.  
The authority and responsibility for carrying out the purpose, 
intent and provisions of this Article are hereby delegated to the 
Department.  The administration of the provisions of this 
Article shall be under the general supervision of the 
Commissioner.  The provisions of this Article shall not 
abrogate or change any power or authority as may be vested in 
the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services under existing statutes. 
 
What It Means 
1. Delegates the authority and responsibility to the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services to carry out the provisions 
of this Article. 

 
2. It does not change the powers and authority of the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture under existing statutes. 
 
 
§106-883. Action against insects and disease.  
Whenever the Commissioner, or his agent, determines that 
there exists an infestation of forest insect pests or an infection 
of forest tree diseases, injurious or potentially injurious to the 
timber of forest trees within the State of North Carolina, and 
that said infestation or infection is of such a character as to be a 
menace to the timber or forest growth of the State, the 
Commissioner shall declare the existence of a zone of 
infestation or infection and shall declare and fix boundaries  
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so as to definitely describe and identify said zone of infestation 
or infection, and the Commissioner or his agent shall give 
notice in writing by mail or otherwise to each forest landowner 
within the designated control zone advising him of the nature 
of the infestation or infection, the recommended control 
measures, and offer him technical advice on methods of 
carrying out controls. 
 
What It Means 
1. Gives the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

or his agent the authority to declare a zone of infection and 
infestation in areas of forest tree diseases and insects and 
recommend control measures. 

 
 
§106-884. Authority of Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services and his agents to go upon private land 
within the control zone.  
The Commissioner or his agents shall have the power to go 
upon the land within any zone of infestation or infection and 
take measures to control, suppress or eradicate the insect, 
infestation or disease infection.  If any person refuses to allow 
the Commissioner or his agents to go upon his land, or if any 
person refuses to adopt adequate means to control or eradicate 
the insect, infestation or disease infection, the Commissioner 
may apply to the superior court of the county in which the land 
is located for an injunction or other appropriate remedy to 
restrain the landowner from interfering with the 
Commissioner or his agent in entering the control zone and 
adopting measures to control, suppress or eradicate the insect 
infestation or disease infection,  
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provided the cost of court or control thereof shall not be a 
liability against the forest landowner nor constitute a lien upon 
the real property of such infested area.  
 
What It Means 
1. Authorizes the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services or his agent to enter upon any land within a zone of 
infestation or infection for the purpose of controlling, 
suppressing or eradicating forest insects or disease. 

 
 
§106-885. Cooperative agreements.  
In order to more effectively carry out the purposes of this 
Article, the Department is hereby authorized to enter into 
cooperative agreement with the federal government and other 
public and private agencies, and with the owners of forestland.  
 
What It Means 
1. Authorizes the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services to enter into cooperative agreements with the Federal 
Government, other agencies, and forest landowners. 

 
 
§106-886. Annulment of control zone.  
Whenever the Commissioner determines that the forest insect 
or disease control work within a designated control zone is no 
longer necessary or feasible, then the Commissioner shall  
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declare the zone of infestation or infection no longer pertinent 
to the purposes of this Article and such zone will then no 
longer be recognized.  
 
What It Means 
1. When the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

determines that a designated infection or infestation control 
zone is no longer necessary, he shall declare the zone no longer 
pertinent and the zone will no longer be recognized. 

 
 

REGULATION OF OPEN FIRES 
 
§106-900. Purpose and findings. 
The purpose of this Article is to regulate certain open burning 
in order to protect the public from the hazards of forest fires 
and air pollution and to adapt such regulation to the needs and 
circumstances of the different areas of North Carolina.  The 
General Assembly finds that open burning in proximity to 
woodlands must be regulated in all counties to protect against 
forest fires and air pollution.  The General Assembly further 
finds that in certain counties a high percentage of the land area 
contains organic soils or forest types which may pose greater 
problems of forest fire and air pollution controls, and that in 
counties in which a great amount of land clearing operations is 
taking place on -these organic soils or these forest types, 
additional control of open burning is required.  The counties 
subject to the need for additional control are classified as high 
hazard counties for purpose of this Article.  
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§106-901. Definitions.  
As used in this Article: 
(1) "Department" means the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services. 
(2) "Forest ranger" means the county forest ranger or deputy 

forest ranger designated under G.S. 106-861. 
(3) "Person" means any individual, firm, partnership, 

corporation, association, public or private institution, 
political subdivision, or government agency. 

(4) "Woodland" means woodland as defined in G.S. 
106-869. 

 
 
§106-902. High hazard counties; permits required; 
standards.  
(a) The provisions of this section apply only to the counties 
of Beaufort, Bladen, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, 
Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Gates, Hyde, Jones, Onslow, 
Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington 
which are classified as high hazard counties in accordance 
with G.S. 106-900. 
 
(b) It is unlawful for any person to willfully start or cause to 
be started any fire in any woodland under the protection of the 
Department or within 500 feet of any such woodland without 
first having obtained a permit from the Department.  Permits 
for starting fires may be obtained from forest rangers or other 
agents authorized by the county forest ranger to issue such 
permits in the county in which the fire is to be started.  Such 
permits shall be issued by the ranger or other agent unless 
permits for the  
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area in question have been prohibited or canceled in 
accordance with G.S. 106-904 or 106-906. 
 
(c) It is unlawful for any person to willfully burn any debris, 
stumps, brush or other flammable materials resulting from 
ground clearing activities and involving more than five 
contiguous acres, regardless of the proximity of the burning to 
woodland and on which such materials are placed in piles or 
windrows without first having obtained a special permit from 
the Department.  Areas less than five acres in size will require 
a regular permit in accordance with G.S. 106-902(b). 

(1)  Prevailing winds  at the  time of  ignition must  
be away from any city, town, development, major  highway,  
or other populated area, the ambient air  of which may be  
significantly affected by smoke, fly ash, or other air 
contaminates from the burning. 

(2)  The location  of the  burning must be at least 1,000 
feet from any dwelling or structure located  in a 
predominately residential area other than  a dwelling  or 
structure  located on  the property  on which the burning is 
conducted unless permission is granted by the occupants. 

(3) The amount  of dirt  or organic  soil on  or in the 
material to be burned must be minimized and the material 
arranged in a way suitable to facilitate rapid burning. 

(4)  Burning may  not be  initiated when  it is  
determined by a forest ranger,  based on  information 
supplied  by a  competent authority that stagnant  air 
conditions  or inversions  exist or  that  such conditions 
may occur during the duration of the burn. 
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(5)  Heavy oils,  asphaltic material,  or items  
containing natural  or synthetic rubber  may not  be used  
to ignite  the material  to be burned or to promote the burning 
of such material. 

(6)  Initial  burning may  be commenced  only 
between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. and no 
combustible material may be added to the fire between 3:00 
p.m. on  one day  and 9:00 a.m. on the following day, except 
that when  favorable meteorological conditions exist, any 
forest ranger authorized to issue  the permit may authorize in 
writing a deviation from the restrictions.  
 
 
§106-903. Open burning in non-high hazard counties; 
permits required; standards.  
(a) The provisions of this section apply only to the counties not 
designated as high hazard counties in G.S. 106-902(a). 
 
(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to start or cause to be 
started any fire or ignite any material in any woodland under 
the protection of the Department or within 500 feet of any such 
woodland during the hours starting at midnight and ending at 
4:00 p.m. without first obtaining a permit from the 
Department.  Permits may be obtained from forest rangers or 
other agents authorized by the forest ranger to issue such 
permits in the county in which the fire is to started.  Such 
permits shall be issued by the ranger or other agent unless 
permits for the area in question have been prohibited or 
canceled under G.S. 106-904 or 106-906.  
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§106-904. Open burning prohibited statewide. 
During periods of hazardous forest fire conditions or during air 
pollution episodes declared pursuant to Article 21B of Chapter 
143 of the General Statutes, the Commissioner is authorized to 
prohibit all open burning regardless of whether a permit is 
required under G.S. 106-902 or 106-903.  The Commissioner 
shall issue a press release containing relevant details of the 
prohibition to news media serving the area affected.  
 
 
§106-905. Permit conditions.  
Permits issued under this Article shall be issued in the name of 
the person undertaking the burning and shall specify the 
specific area in which the burning is to occur, the type and 
amount of material to be burned, the duration of the permit, 
and such other factors as are necessary to identify the burning 
which is allowed under the permit. 
 
 
§106-906. Permit suspension and cancellation.  
Upon a determination that hazardous forest fire conditions 
exist the Commissioner is authorized to cancel any permit 
issued under this Article and suspend the issuance of any new 
permits.  Upon a determination by the Environmental 
Management Commission or its agent that open burning 
permitted under this Article is causing significant 
contravention of ambient air quality standards or that an air 
pollution episode exists pursuant to Article 21B of Chapter 
143 of the General Statutes, the Commissioner shall cancel 
any permits issued under authority of this Article and shall 
suspend the issuance of any new permits.  
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§106-907. Control of existing fires.  
(a)  If a fire is set without a permit required by G.S. 106-902, 
106-903 or 106-904 and is set in an area in which permits are 
prohibited or canceled at the time the fire is set, the person 
responsible for setting the fire or causing the fire to be set shall 
immediately extinguish the fire or take such other action as 
directed by any forest ranger authorized to issue permits under 
G.S. 106-902(c).  In the event that the person responsible 
does not immediately undertake efforts to extinguish the fire 
or take such other action as directed by the forest ranger, the 
Department may enter the property and take reasonable steps 
to extinguish or control the fire and the person responsible for 
setting the fire shall reimburse the Department for the 
expenses incurred by the Department.  A showing that a fire 
is associated with land-clearing activities is prima facie 
evidence that the person undertaking the land clearing is 
responsible for setting the fire or causing the fire to be set. 
 
(b) If a fire requiring a permit under G.S. 106-902(c) is set 
without a permit and a forest ranger authorized to issue such 
permits determines that a permit would not have been issued 
for the fire at the time it was set, the person responsible for 
setting the fire or causing the fire to be set shall immediately 
take such action as the forest ranger directs to extinguish or 
control the fire.  In the event the person responsible does not 
immediately undertake efforts to extinguish the fire or take 
such other action as directed by the forest ranger, the 
Department may enter the  
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property and take reasonable steps to extinguish or control the 
fire and the person responsible for setting the fire shall 
reimburse the Department for the expenses incurred by the 
Department.  A showing that a fire is associated with 
land-clearing activities is prima facie evidence that the person 
undertaking the land clearing is responsible for setting the fire 
or causing the fire to be set. 
 
(c) If a fire is set in accordance with a permit but the burning 
is taking place contrary to the conditions of the permit, any 
forest ranger with authority to issue permits in the area in 
question may order the permittee in writing to undertake the 
steps necessary to comply with the conditions of his permit.  
If the permittee is not making a reasonable effort to comply 
with the order, the forest ranger may enter the property and 
take reasonable steps to extinguish or control the fire and the 
permittee shall reimburse the Department for the expenses 
incurred by the Department. 
 
 
§106-908. Penalties.  
Any person violating the provisions of this Article or of any 
permit issued under the authority of this Article shall be guilty 
of a Class 3 misdemeanor. The penalties imposed by this 
section shall be separate and apart and not in lieu of any civil 
or criminal penalties which may be imposed by G. S. 
143-215.114A or G. S. 143-215.114B.  The penalties 
imposed are also in addition to any liability the violator incurs 
as a result of actions taken by the Department under G. S. 
106-907.   
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§106-909. Effect on other laws.  
This Article shall not be construed as affecting or abridging 
the lawful authority of local governments to pass ordinances 
relating to open burning within their boundaries.  Nothing in 
this Article shall relieve any person from compliance with the 
provisions of Article 21B of Chapter 143 of the General 
Statutes and regulations adopted thereunder.  In the event that 
permits are required for open burning associated with land 
clearing under the authority of Article 21B of Chapter 143 of 
the General Statutes, the authority to issue such permits shall 
be delegated to forest rangers who are authorized to issue 
permits under G.S. 106-902(c). 
 
 
§106-910. Exempt fires; no permit fees.  
(a) This Article shall not apply to any fires started, or caused to 
be started, within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling house if 
such fire shall be confined (i) within an enclosure from which 
burning material may not escape or (ii) within a protected area 
upon which a watch is being maintained and which is provided 
with adequate fire protection equipment. 
 
(b) No charge shall be made for the granting of any permit 
required by this Article. 
 
What It Means 
1. Unlawful to willfully start or cause to be started any fire in or 

within 500 feet of woodlands without a permit in high hazard 
counties. 
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2. Must have a special ground clearing permit if ground clearing 
activities involve more than five (5) acres placed in piles or 
windrows regardless of distance from woodlands in high hazard 
counties. 

 
3. Area less than five (5) acres requires a regular permit in 

accordance with G.S. 106-902(b). 
 
4. Unlawful to start or cause to be started any fire in the woodlands 

or within 500 feet of woodlands during the hours of midnight 
and 4:00 p.m. without a permit in non high hazard counties. 

 
5. During periods of hazardous forest fire conditions or air 

pollution episodes the Commissioner is authorized to cancel all 
permits and prohibit all open burning. 

 
6. If a fire is set without a permit, or when permits are canceled, the 

person responsible for setting the fire or causing the fire to be set 
shall immediately extinguish the fire as directed by any Forest 
Ranger. 

 
7. If the responsible person does not immediately undertake efforts 

to take action as directed by the Ranger to extinguish the fire, the 
Department may take reasonable steps to control the fire and 
responsible party shall reimburse the Department for the 
expenses. 

 
8. If the burning is taking place contrary to the permit conditions, 

the Forest Ranger may order the permittee in writing to comply 
with the conditions.  If permittee does  
not make a reasonable effort to comply, the Ranger may take 
reasonable steps to extinguish or control the fire and the 
permittee shall reimburse the Department for the expenses. 
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9. This article does not apply to any fires started, or caused to be 
started, within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling if fire is confined 
within an enclosure from which material may not escape or 
within a protected area upon which a watch is being maintained 
and which is provided with adequate fire protection equipment. 

 
10.   Any person violating the provisions of this Article shall 
 be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 
 
11.  Air Quality Rules make it illegal to burn  

C Garbage, paper and cardboard 
C Tires and other rubber products 
C Building materials, including lumber 
C Wire, plastics and synthetic materials 
C Asphalt shingles and heavy oils 
C Paints, household land agricultural chemicals 

 
 

NORTH CAROLINA PRESCRIBED BURNING ACT.  
 
§106-920. Legislative findings. 
The General Assembly finds that prescribed burning of 
forestlands is a management tool that is beneficial to North 
Carolina’s public safety, forest and wildlife resources, 
environment, and economy.  The General Assembly finds 
that the following are benefits that result from prescribed 
burning of forestlands: 

(1) Prescribed burning reduces the naturally occurring 
buildup of vegetative fuels on forestlands, thereby 
reducing the risk and severity of wildfires and 
lessening the loss of life and property. 
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(2) The State’s ever-increasing population is resulting 
in urban development directly adjacent to fire-prone 
forestlands, referred to as a woodland-urban 
interface area.  The use of prescribed burning in 
these woodland-urban interface areas substantially 
reduces the risk of wildfires that cause damage. 

(3) Many of North Carolina’s natural ecosystems 
require periodic fire for their survival.  Prescribed 
burning is essential to the perpetuation, restoration, 
and management of many plant and animal 
communities.  Prescribed burning benefits game, 
nongame, and endangered wildlife species by 
increasing the growth and yield of plants that 
provide forage and an area for escape and brooding 
and that satisfy other habitat needs. 

(4) Forestlands are economic, biological, and aesthetic 
resources of statewide significance.  In addition to 
reducing the frequency and severity of wildfires, 
prescribed burning of forestlands helps to prepare 
sites for replanting and natural seeding, to control 
insects and diseases, and to increase productivity. 

(5) Prescribed burning enhances the resources on public 
use lands, such as State and national forests, wildlife 
refuges, nature preserves, and game lands.  
Prescribed burning enhances private lands that are 
managed for wildlife refuges, nature preserves, and 
game lands.   
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(6) Prescribed burning enhances private lands that are 
managed for wildlife, recreation, and other purposes. 

 
As North Carolina’s population grows, pressures resulting 
from liability issues and smoke complaints discourage or limit 
prescribed burning so that these numerous benefits to 
forestlands often are not attainable.  By recognizing the 
benefits of prescribed burning and by adopting requirements 
governing prescribed burning, the General Assembly helps to 
educate the public, avoid misunderstanding, and reduce 
complaints about this valuable management tool. 
 
 
§106-921.  Definitions. 
As used in this Article: 

(1) “Certified prescribed burner” means an individual 
who has successfully completed a certification 
program approved by the Forest Service of the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

(2) “Prescribed burning” means the planned and 
controlled application of fire to naturally occurring 
vegetative fuels under safe weather and safe 
environmental and other conditions, while 
following appropriate precautionary measures that 
will confine the fire to a predetermined area and 
accomplish the intended management objectives. 
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(3) “Prescription” means a written plan prepared by a 
certified prescribed burner for starting, controlling, 
and extinguishing a prescribed burning. 

 
 
§106-922.  Immunity from liability. 
(a) Any prescribed burning conducted in compliance with G. 
S. 106-923 is in the public interest and does not constitute a 
public or private nuisance. 
(b) A landowner or the landowner’s agent who conducts a 
prescribed burning in compliance with G. S. 106-923 shall not 
be liable in any civil action for any damage or injury caused by 
or resulting from smoke. 
(c) Notwithstanding subsections (a) and (b), this section does 
not apply when a nuisance or damage results from a 
negligently or improperly conducted prescribed burning. 
 
 
§106-923.  Prescribed burning. 
(a) Prior to conducting a prescribed burning, the landowner 
shall obtain a prescription for the prescribed burning prepared 
by a certified prescribed burner and filed with the Forest 
Service, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  
A copy of the prescription shall be provided to the landowner.  
A copy of this prescription shall be in the possession of the 
responsible burner on site throughout the duration of the 
prescribed burning.  The prescription shall include: 
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(1) The landowner’s name and address. 
(2) A description of the area to be burned. 
(3) A map of the area to be burned. 
(4) An estimate in tons of the fuel located on the area. 
(5) The objectives of the prescribed burning. 
(6) A list of the acceptable weather conditions and 

parameters for the prescribed burning sufficient to 
minimize the likelihood of smoke damage and fire 
escaping onto adjacent areas. 

(7) The name of the certified prescribed burner 
responsible for conducting the prescribed burning. 

(8) A summary of the methods that are adequate for the 
particular circumstances involved to be used to start, 
control, and extinguish the prescribed burning. 

(9) Provision for reasonable notice of the prescribed 
burning to be provided to nearby homes and 
businesses to avoid effects on health and property. 

 
(b) The prescribed burning shall be conducted by a certified 
prescribed burner in accordance with a prescription that 
satisfies subsection (a) of this section.  The certified 
prescribed burner shall be present on the site and shall be in 
charge of the burning throughout the period of the burning.  A 
landowner may conduct a prescribed burning without being a 
certified prescribed burner if the landowner is burning a tract 
of forestland of 50 acres or  



 
 

39 

less owned by that landowner and is following all conditions 
established in a prescription prepared by a certified prescribed 
burner. 
 
(c)  Prior to conducting a prescribed burning, the landowner 
or the landowner’s agent shall obtain an open-burning permit 
under Article 4C of this Chapter from the Forest Service, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  This 
open-burning permit must remain in effect throughout the 
period of the prescribed burning.  The prescribed burning 
shall be conducted in compliance with all the following: 

(1) The terms and conditions of the open-burning 
permit under Article 4C of this Chapter. 

(2) The State’s air pollution control statutes under 
Article 21 and Article 21B of Chapter 143 of the 
General Statutes and any rules adopted pursuant to 
these statutes. 

(3) Any applicable local ordinances relating to open 
burning. 

(4) The voluntary smoke management guidelines 
adopted by the Forest Service, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

(5) Any rules adopted by the Forest Service, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
to implement this Article. 
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§106-924.  Adoption of rules. 
The Forest Service, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, may adopt rules that govern prescribed burning 
under this Article. 
 
 
§106-925.  Exemption. 
This Article does not apply when the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services has canceled burning 
permits pursuant to G. S. 106-906 or prohibited all open 
burning pursuant to G. S. 106-904. 
 
What It Means 
1. The Forest Service will certify prescribed burners after the 

person has completed a certification program approved by the 
Forest Service. 

 
2. When a landowner has a prescribed fire on 50 acres or less of 

his/her own land, and following a plan by a certified burner, 
he/she shall not be liable in civil action for damage or injury 
caused by or resulting from smoke. 

 
3. A certified prescribed burner can prescribe burn following a 

burning plan filed with the Forest Service and following the 
other requirements of G.S. 106-920 through G.S. 106-925, shall 
not be liable in civil action for damages or injury caused by or 
resulting from smoke. 
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IN CASE OF VIOLATIONS OF THE FOREST 
PROTECTION LAWS NOTIFY YOUR LOCAL NORTH 

CAROLINA  FOREST SERVICE OFFICIAL. 
         
N.C. FOREST SERVICE DISTRICT OFFICES: 
Asheville (828) 667-5211 
Elizabeth City (252) 331-4781 
Fairfield (252) 926-3041 
Fayetteville (910) 437-2620 
Hillsborough (919) 732-8105 
Lenoir (828) 757-5611 
Lexington (336) 956-2111 
Mt. Holly (704) 827-7576 
New Bern (252) 514-4764 
Rockingham (910) 997-9220 
Rocky Mount (252) 442-1626 
Sylva (828) 586-4007 
Whiteville (910) 642-5093 
 
N.C. DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY REGIONAL 
OFFICES: 
Asheville (828)296-4500 
Western NC (828)250-6777 
Winston-Salem (336)771-5000 
Forsyth County (336)703-2440 
Raleigh (919)791-4200 
Washington (252)946-6481 
Wilmington (910)796-7215 
Fayetteville (910)433-3300 
Mecklenburg Co (704)336-5500 
Mooresville (704)663-1699 
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